Few Important things you need to know about Oculoplastic Surgery

Over a period of time, Oculoplastic surgery has evolved as one of the most popular types of eye surgeries. This particular type of surgery is known for being able to treat a wide range of different types of issues. There are four different types of Oculoplastic surgery which can be carried out. According to a recent study; those who have undergone any of these four types of surgeries have experienced huge benefits in their lives.

What is Oculoplastic Surgery


Also known by the name of ophthalmic plastic surgery; this form of surgery is a very complex procedure, which primarily focuses on the reconstructive and plastic surgery of the eye orbit, which is the boney socket of the eye, the eyelids, tear ducts. Besides, it is also used for cosmetic surgeries of the eyebrows as well as the eyelids.

If you have undergone a ophthalmic plastic surgery, and you are facing any post surgery issues; in that case, there can be various reasons leading to such a situation. Experiencing complications after a surgery is quite common; however, if you feel that the situation is worsening progressively and you suspect that there has been some negligence or inefficiency on the part of the surgeon, in that case, you can sue him and demand for compensation. However, in order to establish your case in a court of law; it is very important for you to substantiate it with proper evidence. This is where you would need the intervention of an expert; someone who has the experience and skills to figure out what exactly has gone wrong. This is where an ophthalmology expert witness comes into the picture. He is the expert you need to investigate such a case.

What are the Different Types of Oculoplastic Surgery?


There are different types of Oculoplastic Surgery which are practiced. Every single one of them have different outputs and results to offer. Here are some of the most common types of Oculoplastic surgeries which are practiced.

  • It is nothing but a type of cosmetic eyelid surgery
  • Eyelid reconstruction, which is used to treat any sort of trauma or for the removal of a tumor.
  • Eyelid Ptosis Surgery; which is used for treating droopy eyelids.
  • Eyebrow lift. This procedure is used for treating heavy or droopy eyelids.
  • Evisceration and Enucleation, which is also known by the name of Orbital Implants
  • Epiphoria, which is also known by the name of ‘dacryocystorhinostomy’ (DCR)
  • Socket Reconstruction, which includes
  • Orbital Implants
  • Dermix Fat Grafts
  • Mucous Membrane Grafts
  • Eyelid Gold Weight, which is used for the purpose of addressing facial palsy.

These are some of the most common types of oculoplastic surgeries which are used. If you have gone through any one of them, and you think that you have been a victim of malpractice, in that case, you would need an ophthalmologist expert witness, who can help you fight your case in a court of law. Looking for an
expert ophthalmology witness? Run a search over the internet.